Miniature Painting Class pt. 2

Miniature Painting Class pt. 2

Elliwyn Heatherlark – Reaper Gnome Bard mini

This painting session, my daughter joined in. Which was an exercise in frustration, haha!

I gave her a Bones USA copy of the mini and I painted up a metal version. The metal one was slightly smaller, which I liked for the scale, but also meant the Bones would be a tiny bit easier for my daughter to paint.

Paint list, Progress shot

First off, I had to move painting supplies, monitor, laptop, etc. downstairs to the dining table. Quite the chore. After everything was setup and the class started, I had to scurry back upstairs to quickly get paints from the paint list. Some back and forth, but finally I sat down and tried to catch up on painting. My daughter kept asking me questions during the session, which caused further distractions.

So, I tried my best to follow along. Again, I find Geoff paints much faster and differently than I do. Similarly to when I took classes at Reapercon, I just tried to absorb what the instructor is teaching, but at times I have to fall back to my old habits to keep up or accomplish something.

The freehand on the shield. Geoff asked for an idea to freehand on the shield. Someone offered up a “bird”. I googled and found the image above. I think I was partially joking, because it looked like too much work for the size of shield. But nope, Geoff said ‘that will work!’. I also didn’t think we would all be painting it *gulp*. Geoff broke it down for us, showing us how to separate the image into its main parts. In this case it was the head, body, wings, and tail. He sketched it out on a scrap piece of paper. That was a nice way of doing it. For the amount of time we had, I think mine turned out ‘ok’. The wings on my bird needed to be a bit longer, so I should have positioned it a bit differently. But going from “that’s impossible!” to something kinda decent was pretty nice.

The class ran over a bit and my daughter ended up having to leave. I was able to stick around and keep painting. Having missed parts of the class earlier, I mainly tried to wing it and catch up where I could. Towards the end, people took pictures of their minis and shared them in the chat. Geoff went through and offered some great advice on each of them. Then it was some open chat time while Geoff worked on completing his mini. I had to leave part way through that, but I found it really fun.

NMM – Geoff did a quick Non-Metallic Metal job on the sword. I tried to follow along, but I was a bit behind and didn’t quite catch it. The key takeaway though, is I got some of the basic concept and it changed my view on the technique. I used to dismiss the technique as “not for me!”. But now I can see how it could be useful. Mostly because I end up putting off metal bits as one of the last items to get done on a mini. This is because I don’t want to mix metallic paints with the brushes, rinsing water, and palette that I’m using for regular paints. With this technique, I could paint metals at any time, with any brush, which could be handy. It also doesn’t look quite as daunting. Granted, I’m not going to be painting NMM at the level that Kuribo does, but something quicker could become part of my tool belt at some point.

Next time: Stargrave 2

14 thoughts on “Miniature Painting Class pt. 2

  1. Great work on the gnome Brian, and nice job on the freehand on the shield, it all comes with practice, and the more you practice the better you get, the same can be said with NMM. It’s a technique that I understand, but actually prefer metallic paints, and that’s just a personal preference, at some point I really need to paint a whole model in NMM, maybe ! LOL

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thanks GP! I’ve sketched out/practiced freehand stuff before, but I don’t know that I broke it down into smaller pieces. That’s really helpful to identify key parts and eliminate the stuff you won’t need and won’t fit. Glad the tip is useful to you too! 😃

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Glad to hear the class went well and you had a painting partner as well! I really like how you painted her clothes even if I don’t love the sculpt itself. I have that reaction a lot when I see Reaper minis which makes me feel like a snob, to be honest. For instance, I don’t like how the sword is sculpted. It doesn’t look like real swords at all and the head proportion is off too. I would guess it makes the head easier to paint though so maybe that was the right call in the end. None of that takes away from your paint job which you performed in a non-traditional and tricky setting!

    I’m even more glad to hear you had a come to NMM Jesus moment haha! Everything you said is true about NMM. No metallics, no problems! 🙂 Seriously though, if you’re painting an army of Stormcast or some other predominantly metal army, I would definitely consider metallic paints to save a good chunk of time. In most other circumstances, NMM takes a little longer to achieve but the results are worth it. Its so much easier to photograph NMM which might be my favorite part of the whole thing.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thanks Jeff! Well, the proportions are pretty off on Warhammer models too and don’t get me started on the weapons! 😉 The sword on this model is definitely a Fantasy sword. The triangle shape of it, is pretty odd though and I can’t argue that it’s great. Her head is supposed to be bigger, because unfortunately that’s how the current D&D artists depict Gnomes.
      I’m not sure I’m crazy about what I did with her clothes…but I was surprised by how bright I was able to get that green over a black undercoat. Granted, it did take some work to get there.
      And yea, I figured you’d be happy to hear that I dipped a toe into the NMM dark side! At some point I need to figure out how that works for me and to incorporate it. I did some small stuff, like a buckle or a sword hilt so far. Stuff people can’t really see on the mini, so it’s easy to make it look vaguely like metal without much effort. Will see how it goes from there.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Haha, fair enough! Having well-sculpted metal parts on the mini will be helpful for practicing NMM so that’s worth considering in the future.

        I’ve always thought NMM was the light side after I joined 😉 In all seriousness, practicing on gaming miniatures is a great way to start off. That is how I did it as well and since the stakes are lower, you don’t have to worry too much about mistakes. Just focus on the basic principles and you can build on them from there. The one thing I will say about NMM versus TMM is that if you slap a metallic paint on something, you’re halfway there with TMM. The trick with NMM is being patient and not being afraid to tweak or smooth things out to get the realistic look that you want. That part can take a little adjusting to but the more you paint NMM, the better you get with it, unsurprisingly.

        As I’ve said before, there’s a lot of info on NMM on Youtube these days. It used to be a real hidden and arcane science but now its easier than ever to learn!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. It sounds like the war between GW and Reaper continues, haha!

          Yea, when I get more time, I’ll look into some NMM videos. Awhile back I saw Squidmar had a ‘2 minute NMM’ video or something, I can’t say it was that helpful. ;P

          Liked by 1 person

          1. I’m ready for Round 12! 😀 I would try Juan Hidalgo’s NMM videos or KujoPainting. I’m not fan of Squidmar and I don’t think NMM can be explained well in 2 minutes either haha.

            Liked by 1 person

            1. Just round 12?! I thought we were up to 30!
              Well, it was actually 11 mins, but after her gets done talking and then breaks it into three different techniques…it’s probably down to 2 mins! 😉

              Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.