Stargrave – Walrus Man

Stargrave – Walrus Man

This week a 28mm plastic mini from NorthStar for the Stargrave game.

Another Stargrave mini that I partially started and wanted to finish off. Really no idea what the hold up was. It might have been a debate about the skin color, belts/pouches, who knows? Once again, it’s good to have these project trays that push me into getting minis done.

Once assembled, the mini reminded me right away of the old Star Wars figure “Walrus Man”. I’m sure Dave Stone can give us all a huge history lesson on him! 😀

When I was a kid though, he was a super minor character who had a brief appearance in the Mos Eisley Cantina in the first Star Wars film. That didn’t stop Kenner from making figures of just about everything you saw in the film though! Which was pretty wild.

Here’s also both of the Stargrave minis that got done in this project batch. I used the same basing for both of them, but I think that’s going to change as I’ve discovered the AK basing materials.

And a few pics of me goofing off, after accidentally clicking the “remove background” feature.

Next Up: Painting Class pt. 3

20 thoughts on “Stargrave – Walrus Man

  1. Awesome work on your alternative Pondo Baba Brian, does he also have the death sentence in twelve systems, or is this one a good guy ! LOL the colours you’ve used are very vibrant, just like the original action figure, and a great nod to the classic toy.

    Liked by 4 people

  2. Fantastic work, Brian! I wasn’t expecting to see something inspired by Star Wars from you but I’m glad to see it. Dave’s comment below game me a chuckle too as I was wondering the same thing! 🙂 You might have just been following the colors on the original toy but I think they’re nicely balanced on Mr. Walrus Man!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thanks Jeff! Well, this is my third or so color inspiration from Star Wars. There was Han, Dengar, Bossk, and I’m probably forgetting one. But I don’t think I have anymore coming up.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks GP! I noticed in the books, they used a very different skin color for these alien heads. If I use the head again, I’m pretty sure I’ll use a different skin color for the rest. Walrus Man will then be unique!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s awesome, thanks Talaraska! I wish I would have had some swim fins to put on his feet too. Yep, that’s Star Frontiers! We played quite a bit of it back in the day. I keep thinking about trying it with the kids someday. It’s a pretty easy system to run, which leaves more time for working on the story and adventures.

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.